The Midnight Legion: Gameplay and Story

Midnight Legion tells the story of one hero’s journey of discovery: waking without memories in a compound under siege (Operation Deep Sleep), escaping out into the unknown wilderness above (The World Reborn), and finally confronting the secrets that set the adventure in motion (The Portal of Life, forthcoming).  Midnight Legion lets you decide what happens next.  You also have a character, which you can keep throughout all three books (or create anew for each book, if you prefer).  The additional game mechanics are meant to help bring the story to life:

  • Memories are recovered over time.  By spending Memory Points, you gain new Memories from the Memory Book that reveal everything from how to use ancient artifacts to your character’s reasons for joining the Legion.
  • Energy Points can be hoarded, or spent to improve the odds of any combat or skill check.
  • Sixth Sense allows you to skip ahead to preview the outcomes of possible actions.
  • Beginning in Book 2, a Countdown provides a deadline for completing your mission.

The trilogy also contains gameplay elements inspired by other gamebooks and role-playing games:

  • Every character is different.  You can emphasize Physical Conditioning, Stealth, or Sixth Sense.
  • You can also specialize in additional skills.  (Inspired by Lone Wolf and other series).
  • The Insights you gain throughout the adventure change the world around you, meaning that every time you visit a place or encounter a creature, the experience will be different.  (Inspired by Sorcery!, Fabled Lands, and other series.)

We hope you agree that the mechanics support the story—and that you continue to accompany us on this journey to the end.

The World Reborn: Errata

A few mistakes made it past play-testing and into Midnight Legion, Book Two: The World Reborn.  Here are some important corrections.  This page will be updated as necessary.

Section 325 (page 119): “Leave this place and continue to the east” should link to section 159. “Leave this place and investigate the high summit to the north” should link to section 176.

The World Reborn Slated for Summer Release

MNL 2 Clearing

The Midnight Legion, Book 2: The World Reborn Kickstarter closed today, and with your support we were able to meet all of our stretch goals. If all goes according to schedule, The World Reborn should be going out to backers in July, with copies in stores worldwide shortly thereafter.  Most of the backers will also receive a new short story from the Midnight Legion world.

Thanks to everyone who has made this journey possible.  On to Book 3!

Hidden Scene in Operation Deep Sleep

Book 2 Explorer

Midnight Legion, Book 2: The World Reborn will soon be in readers’ hands.  That means a new adventure to explore, but it also means that more secrets will soon be unlocked in Book 1: Operation Deep Sleep.

Like The World Reborn, Operation Deep Sleep is meant to be different every time you read it.  Encounters will change, in large or subtle ways, depending on your skills, the previous choices you’ve made, and the Memories you’ve uncovered.  But some things can only be discovered after you’ve read books two and three.

Each book in the trilogy is meant to stand on its own.  It contains a quest with a beginning, middle, and end.  At the same time, the volumes also build off of each other to form a larger story.  The mysteries you uncover in the first book about your mission and identity will finally be resolved in book three.  After the third book, you’ll hopefully recognize the significance of some of the clues you found in the first.

The World Reborn, however, changes Book 1 in a more concrete way.  One of the paths you can take will allow you to go back and play through an otherwise hidden scene in Operation Deep Sleep, as well as to skip ahead to improve your odds in Book 3 (once it becomes available).  The hidden scene in Operation Deep Sleep will provide additional information about the history and motivations of The Midnight Legion.  Whether that information will be enough to help you prevail remains to be seen….